Happy Birthday Mom!

To the best Mom I know, here’s to you.

I remember when I was little, you used to tuck me in bed every night & you’d run your nails along my arms to comfort me until I fell asleep. I remember when I had nightmares, I’d run into your’s & Dad’s room with the legendary stuffed blanky I’ve had since I was born, & would sleep in your bed. I remember on Sunday mornings, I’d wake up early just so we could sit on the couch and watch Mickey Mouse Clubhouse (hence the nickname that I have been called since I was born and still to this day) until it was time to get ready for church. I also remember that one time I thought I was cool for riding my bike with no hands & ended up falling off my bike in front of my 4th grade crush & rushed into the house to clean up the scrapes all over my legs and arms. Surprisingly, I didn’t even scream. Neither could you hear my cries. Tears were shed, but not a word was spoken. All I was worried about was that I had just embarrassed myself in front of the boy I was crushing on, I wasn’t even worried about the hole ripped in my pants or the stinging sensation after scraping up my body.

Well, 13 years later, everything’s slightly the same other than the fact that we’ve all grown older & don’t quite look the same as we did when we were younger. The difference is that I now tuck myself in at night, although I can’t manage to fall asleep without the TV on. But you still pray for me every night before bed. That hasn’t changed. I rarely have nightmares anymore, but when I do, I still come in your room to wake you up & let you know. We end up sprawling out in the family room watching old Disney Channel shows & talking until we fall asleep. We still wake up early on Sunday mornings & sit out in the family room watching Mickey Mouse Clubhouse together until it’s time for us to leave for the nursing home. Oh, and don’t worry, I’m just as clumsy as I was 5 years ago. In fact, I not too long ago fell off my skateboard & ended up much worse than the bike incident. I had scrapes on my hands, arms, hips, and knees. Took a week to fully heal. & I’ve still got those scars. Yeah, so let’s just say I’m much clumsier than I was in 4th grade lol. Only difference is that not even a tear was shed. I’ve become much stronger over the past few years due to concurring events. All I did was flinch. And yes, it just happened by coincidence that I had happened to rip not one hole– but two holes in my pants. Yeah, karma doesn’t like me.

But my point here is even though I’m older now, age is just a number. Some things just never change. My Mother has & will always be my best friend. Through anything & everything. So, here’s to you, Mom. For always being there for me through all the rough patches we cross along the way. Life is a test of bravery, wiseness, loyalty, & strength. Bravery; stepping up when everybody else just stepped back. Wiseness; Walking with God, not behind Him. Loyalty; Commitment. Strength; Falling down a steep slope only to pull yourself back up and onto your feet.

You, my dear, have passed the test of Life. You are the bravest, wisest, most loyal, & the strongest Godly woman I know. And I’m proud to be your daughter. You’re not only my mom, but you’re my bestfriend too. What a gem you are. Give yourself a round of applause because of just how amazing of a person you are. You’re the best mother in the galaxy, you are my star. I wouldn’t & couldn’t trade you for the entire universe! Yes, by universe, I’m including Uranus, Saturn, Jupiter, Mars, Neptune, Venus, Mercury, planet Earth, & Pluto (Yes, I still consider Pluto a planet. I’m not believing the lies of NASA). Anyways, I hope you have the best day ever & I hope you enjoy that Kris Jenner Cookbook Ashlee & I got you. It should be here by Friday so It’ll be a little late, but a gift is a gift. Happy birthday mom, I love you so so so SO so much.

-Mickey

P.S. That is the only time I will ever use my nickname is for your birthday purposes only, because you know how much I despise that nickname, but I love YOU. Oh, & I spent only an hour just writing this so it is currently 1:39am. Goes to show just how much I love & care about you! 😊

One thought on “Happy Birthday Mom!

  1. My sweet baby girl! Thank you so much for all you have done! As I’ve said before, Always put the Lord first in your life and you will Never go wrong! Never compromise your love for Him! You will always have a special place in my heart, I’m so proud of you accomplishments and the journey your about to embark on, love you so much ! I’ll always be here for you sweetie! I love you! Momma

    Like

Leave a Reply

